• College scholarships available through LPEA



    Electric cooperative to host scholarship Q&A “Open House” Feb. 17


    DURANGO, Colo. – High school seniors in La Plata and Archuleta counties are once again invited to apply for the variety of scholarships available through La Plata Electric Association (LPEA). Deadline for application is March 1, 2011.

    To assist high school seniors and their parents with the application process, LPEA will host a special “Open House,” Thursday, Feb. 17, 5:30-7 p.m. at LPEA’s Bodo Park headquarters (45 Stewart St., Durango). LPEA staff members will be on-hand to answer any questions, plus copies of all applications will be available. No r.s.v.p. is required.

    LPEA directly offers the LPEA Scholarship (four-year) and LPEA/John Voelker Memorial Scholarship (two-year), plus provides for additional affiliated rural electric scholarships/awards offered by Tri-State Generation and Transmission, Basin Electric and the Rocky Mountain Electrical League (RMEL).

     Specifically, LPEA will award one, four-year scholarship (140 credit hours) for a student attending any college or university beginning with the 2011-2012 academic year. LPEA will cover tuition, books and fees, up to $5,000 annually, given that the student maintains minimum qualifications. Opportunities also exist for the LPEA Scholarship recipient to enjoy internship/summer employment with LPEA. Currently, 2009 LPEA scholarship recipient Ben Southworth is working the Durango office during his sabbatical from Dartmouth College.

    The La Plata Electric/John Voelker Memorial Scholarship recognizes a student attending an accredited vocational school, technical school or junior college. This two-year scholarship covers fees, books, tools and supplies up to $3,000 per year.

    Applicants must be seniors graduating from high schools within LPEA’s service territory (La Plata and Archuleta Counties), or may be home school graduates.

    In 2010, scholarship recipients were Grace Preparatory graduate Christina Spriggs, the LPEA Scholarship; Ignacio High School graduate Eric Salvo, LPEA/John Voelker Memorial Scholarship; Pagosa Springs High School graduate Taylor Cunningham, $1,000 Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship; Pagosa Springs High School graduate Jordan Davey and Bayfield High School graduate Jesse Ellison, $500 scholarships from Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association. 

    Rural electric cooperatives are known nationally to provide stable employment, livable wages and solid benefit packages. LPEA is no exception and, with more than 100 employees, exists as one of the more significant employers in the region. The cooperative endeavors to train and educate local young people for positions they may ultimately secure at LPEA, though this is not a requirement of the scholarship.

    Former scholarship recipients currently employed at LPEA include, Pagosa High School graduates Jake Wills, hired as an LPEA Staff Engineer following graduation from Colorado State University (CSU) in 2004, and Mindy Farrow Potter, coming to LPEA as an Engineering IT Specialist following her 1997 FLC graduation with a degree in computer science. Also, Dan Harms, a Durango High School graduate, LPEA scholarship recipient and 1994 CSU graduate, is a Systems Engineer.

    For further information and to download applications, visit www.lpea.coop or contact Jeannie Bennett at 970.382.3505, or jbennett@lpea.coop.

    LPEA, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative established in 1939, provides to its more than 30,000 members, with in excess of 40,000 meters, safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost, while being environmentally responsible.

    << Go Back