• LPEA director elections to be held in Districts 1, 3 and 4


    Winners to be announced May 14 at LPEA Annual Meeting in Ignacio

    DURANGO, Colo. – With challenges in the energy industry looming large, interest in securing a “seat at the table” when La Plata Electric Association (LPEA) determines current and future policy has stimulated a solid field of candidates for the up-coming board of directors election in three of LPEA’s four districts.

    In accordance with LPEA’s bylaws, annually one seat in each of LPEA’s four districts comes up for election. Though the election in Districts 2 is slated to be officially cancelled by board action on April 20 given only one candidate, elections are confirmed for Districts 1, 3 and 4.

    “We welcome the interest from our members, and we want them to be involved,” said Greg Munro, LPEA CEO. “In coming years we’re going to be faced with rising costs for the production of electricity, and we will need to be thoughtful and conscientious as we explore our options going forward. This election is very important. We encourage all LPEA members to get to know the candidates and vote.”

    [Please note: Candidate profiles and statements are included at the end of this release.]

    With the retirement of current District 1 Director Harry Cole, LPEA members in Archuleta County will elect a new representative from a field of three: Brad Carey, Ken Fox and J.B. (James B.) Smith. District 1 contains approximately 7,500 eligible voters.

    In District 3, which is essentially the City of Durango, new candidates Andrew Klotz and John David (Dave) Nulton are challenging incumbent Jeff Berman for his seat. District 3 includes approximately 7,200 eligible voters.

    District 4 incumbent Joe Wheeling faces challengers Dave Ganevsky, Padraig Lynch and Paul Stuart. Approximately 7,500 eligible voters are in District 4, which covers north and east La Plata County, including Bayfield.

    In District 2 (south and west La Plata County), incumbent board member Davin Montoya had no challengers. Pursuant to Article III, Section 5 of the LPEA bylaws, Montoya is expected to be reappointed to his seat for the next three years during the regular April 20 meeting of the LPEA board.

    “All districts will, however, be receiving election materials,” said Munro, noting that bylaw amendments must be considered. “Primarily due to new statutes adopted in at the State Capitol, we need to amend our bylaws to be in compliance. The election packets contain detailed information on these amendments, and we would truly appreciate it if everyone would take the time to vote on the amendments. It may seem as though your vote doesn’t matter – but it really does.”

    Election packets will be mailed to all member-owners (those who pay their electric bill to LPEA) on April 22, and ballots must be returned by 4 p.m., Friday, May 13 to FredrickZink & Associates. The independent, Durango-based CPA firm has been retained by LPEA to tally the ballots utilizing La Plata County’s official ballot counting equipment. The results will be announced at the LPEA Annual Meeting at Sky Ute Casino and Resort in Ignacio on May 14. Registration for the Annual Meeting begins at 9 a.m., with the business meeting to commence at 10:30 a.m. A complimentary lunch follows.

    LPEA, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative established in 1939, provides to its more than 30,000 members, with in excess of 40,000 meters, safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost, while being environmentally responsible. For additional information, contact LPEA at 970.247.5786 or visit www.lpea.coop.

    << Go Back