• La Plata Electric Association Annual Meeting set for May 11, 2013


    All members invited; results of director elections to be announced

    Results of director elections in three of four districts of La Plata Electric Association (LPEA) will be announced at the electric cooperative’s Annual Meeting, Saturday, May 11, 2013, at Sky Ute Casino and Resort, Ignacio.

    The Annual Meeting is free and open to all LPEA members in-good-standing. Registration begins at 9 a.m., with the business meeting commencing at 10:30 a.m. A complimentary luncheon, catered by Sky Ute, follows the meeting.

    In addition to a review of the business of the cooperative and director election results, the meeting will feature keynote speaker Kent Singer, executive director, Colorado Rural Electric Association (CREA), the trade association supporting the rural electric cooperatives in Colorado, including LPEA. Singer has served as CREA’s executive director since January 1, 2010, prior to which he was CREA’s general counsel, representing the association in public utility and legislative matters.

    LPEA director election ballots were mailed to cooperative members on April 19 and must be returned by 4 p.m., Friday, May 10 to FredrickZink & Associates, the independent, Durango-based CPA firm retained by LPEA to tally the ballots utilizing La Plata County’s official ballot counting equipment. If not submitting ballots by mail, members can vote at the Annual Meeting prior to 10:30 a.m.

    The approximately 7,700 LPEA members in Archuleta County – District 1 – will elect a representative to the board from a field of two: incumbent Lindon Stewart and new candidate Mark Garcia.         

    In District 3, which is essentially the City of Durango, two new candidates will vie for the seat vacated by retiring incumbent Harry Goff: Michael Rendon and Richard Alan Yoder. District 3 includes approximately 7,400 eligible voters.

    New candidate Jack D. Turner is challenging incumbent Herb Brodsky in District 4. Nearly 7,700 eligible voters are in District 4, which covers north and east La Plata County, including part of Bayfield.

    This year in District 2 (south and west La Plata County), incumbent director Tom Compton was the only nominee, thus the election in that district has been cancelled and Compton retains his seat.

    LPEA members who register at the Annual Meeting will receive a $5 credit on their electric bill plus are eligible for a wide array of door prizes. Sky Ute Casino and Resort is located at 14324 US Hwy 172 N., Ignacio. The LPEA Annual Meeting will be held in the event center to the rear of the resort, and volunteer parking attendants will direct members to the most convenient parking. Additionally, golf carts will be available to assist those who have difficulty walking. The Sky Ute telephone number is 970.563.7777.

    LPEA, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative established in 1939, provides to its more than 30,000 members, with nearly 41,000 meters, safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost, while being environmentally responsible. For additional information, contact LPEA at 970.247.5786 or visit www.lpea.coop.

    << Go Back